Skip to main content

Kruger And Smith Honored For Race Careers And Accomplishments

Rock Country Star Herald - Staff Photo - Create Article
Jeremy Smith was inducted into the Murray County Speedway Hall of Fame July 15. Pictured are (front, from left) Shelly Smith, Bard Smith, Clyde Smith, Jeremy Smith, Makenzie Smith, Sara Helling (in hat), Hannah Helling, Jacey Smith, (back) Matt Thier, Jarad Smith, Keith Petersen, Chad Smith, Adam Humphrey, Joe Voss and Trevor Ruesch.
Greg Hoogeveen

This past week two local race car drivers were honored for their careers in the sport.
Jeremy Smith was inducted into the Murray County Speedway Hall of Fame on July 15.
Smith has been racing since he was 17 years old.
He started out in the sportsmen class and worked his way through hobby stock, B-Mod and eventually A-Mods where he has been racing for the past seven years.
Some of the races highlighting Smith’s career are his first-ever hobby stock win at Huset’s in 1996 and his back-to-back points championships in Worthington and Slayton.
“I appreciate all the people I have met along the way and all their help,” he said, adding that he’s not done racing yet.
“It’s been harder to go racing with family and life events as you get older.”
David Kruger, known as “Quicksilver,” was honored posthumously with a Memorial Race at the Rock Rapids Speedway July 18.
Kruger began racing at the age of 36 and continued up to his full-time retirement in 2007.
He notched 40 career wins at Rapid Speedway, 27 wins at Huset’s and 16 victories at Lake County Speedway in Madison.
He also won the Jackson National Championship in Jackson in 1990.
Kruger passed away Jan. 11 of this year, leaving behind a legacy of racing history.

You must log in to continue reading. Log in or subscribe today.