Skip to main content

School News June 9, 2016

American Legion awards Richters
The American Legion Auxiliary #123, Luverne, announces that the Department Past President’s Parley Chairman has awarded Brittney Richters one of seven $1,000 scholarships to be paid once she finishes her first semester at college.
Bethany Lutheran releases dean’s list
Bethany Lutheran College, Mankato, has named Cora Mumme and Andrew Jelken to the Spring 2015-16 dean’s list. Cora is the daughter of Mark and Beth Mumme, Hardwick, and Andrew is the son of James and Paula Jelken, Luverne.
To qualify for the dean’s list, students must earn a grade point average of at least 3.5 with at least 14 credits.
Morningside College recognizes Taubert
Morningside College, Sioux City, Iowa, has named Carey Taubert, a sophomore nursing student from Beaver Creek, as a Dimmitt Scholar.
To earn this honor, students must be enrolled full time and complete at least 45 credits of college work while maintaining a grade point average between 3.5 and 3.75.
Morgan graduates from Iowa State
Natalie Morgan received her Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree at the Spring 2016 commencement exercises at Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa.
Natalie is the daughter of Dr. Richard and Carol Morgan, Luverne.
NDSU releases dean’s list
North Dakota State University, Fargo, has released the Spring 2015-16 dean’s list. To earn this distinction students must earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher while taking at least 12 credit hours.
Named to the dean’s list from Magnolia was Yssi Cronquist, animal science; and from Luverne Paige Adams, nursing, Savanna Thielbar, women and gender studies, and Sydney Thielbar, accounting.
Northern State names Thielbar to dean’s list
Northern State University, Aberdeen, South Dakota, has named Brooke Thielbar, Luverne, to the dean’s list for the Spring 2016 semester.
To earn this honor, students must earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.
SMSU releases spring dean’s list
Southwest Minnesota State University, Marshall, has named several area students to the Spring 2016 dean’s list.
Katlyn Sandbulte, Hills, was named to the High Honors list with a 4.0 GPA. Darcy Lowman-Craig, Beaver Creek, Alizabeth Prekker, Brooke Thompson, and Alex Weis, all of Luverne, and Emilie Baartman, Brandon, South Dakota, were named to the Honors list with a GPA of 3.5 or higher.
St. Mary’s University of Minnesota Winona
Haley Boltjes and Jase Pater graduated May 7 from Saint Mary’s University in Winona with Bachelor of Arts degrees.
Boltjes is the daughter of David and Sharon Boltjes, and Jase is the son of Darrin and Joan Pater, all of Adrian.
St. Mary’s Winona honors area students
Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota, Winona, has named Kynzie Smedsrud and Haley Boltjes to the Spring 2016 dean’s list.
Kynzie is the daughter of Steve and Pat Smedsrud, Luverne. Haley is the daughter of David and Sharon Boltjes, Adrian.
To be named, students must earn a grade point average of 3.6 or higher.
UMD releases dean’s list
The University of Minnesota Duluth has released the Spring 2016 dean’s list. The following students were named:
From Adrian, Mitchell Oehlerts, College of Science and Engineering, undeclared.
From Beaver Creek, Sean Rollag, chemical engineering.
From Luverne, Madison Stearns, criminology, Kayla Thone, early childhood studies, and Kaitlin Wohnoutka, biology.
To earn this distinction students must earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.
SDSU Spring 2016 dean’s list
South Dakota State University, Brookings, has released the Spring 2016 dean’s list, and a number of area students have made the list. Students must earn a 3.5 or higher for the honor. An asterisk denotes a 4.0 GPA.
From Adrian: David Cook, Bridget Kramer*, Aaron Marsh.
 From Ellsworth: Cole Meester* and Paige Meester*.
From Hills: Natalie Leuthold* and Haley Van Wyhe.
From Lismore: Alisha Boomgaarden* and Anthony Lynn.
From Luverne: David Aukes*, Ellen Dahl, Hilary Deragisch*, Alyssa Frakes, Brandon Klein, Madison Reisch, Elizabeth Scheidt*, Kristen Scheidt, Brenton Thompson*, and Syndie Jo Weiss-Anderson.
From Rushmore: Samantha Croat*.
From Steen: Caleb Schroer*.
DSU, Madison,  names honor students
Dakota State University, Madison, South Dakota, released its 2016 Spring President’s Academic Honors list. To qualify, students must earn at least a 3.5 on a 4.0 scale.
Full-time students named to the honors list are Austin Dirks, Ellsworth; Riley Lentz, Hills; Logan Herman, Luverne; and Alexis Hanson, Steen.
Part-time student Hailey Stulen, Luverne, was also named.