Skip to main content

Nolz, Wessels, Hartman, Hood file for Luverne School Board

Lori Sorenson

The filing deadline is Tuesday, Aug. 16, for local leaders interested in running for office.
So far, two new candidates — Zach Nolz and Scott Wessels — and incumbent Eric Hartman have filed for five open seats on the Luverne School Board.
The open seats are held by Katie Baustian, Reva Sehr and Jodi Bosch — all three of whom have indicated they will not seek re-election.
A fifth seat on the Luverne School Board is open for election because deputy Jeff Stratton resigned this summer to become the school resource officer this fall.
Retired school board member Colleen Deutsch was appointed to fill Stratton’s seat through Dec. 31, but the Nov. 8 ballot will elect a candidate to fill the remaining two years of the term.
In the Hills-Beaver Creek District, open seats on the H-BC board are currently held by Harley Fransman, Renee Knobloch, Ethan Rozeboom and Arlyn Gehrke.
As of noon on Tuesday, no one had filed in the district office.
The filing deadline is 5 p.m. Tuesday, Aug. 16, for open seats on school boards, all Rock County municipalities (except Luverne) and townships that hold their elections in November.
School Board candidates should file in district offices, city candidates in respective city offices, and township candidates with their respective townships.
Cities and townships
Based on information available at the courthouse, following are the other local government seats open for election Nov. 8 and the incumbents currently serving:
Beaver Creek: Mayor Josh Teune and council members Jeff Dysthe and Pat Bender
Hardwick: Mayor Willy Baker and council members Gordon Hansen and Tom Haas
Hills: Council members Vickie Busswitz and Alan Leenderts
Kenneth: Mayor Keith Hoven and council members Sheri Vyskocil and Laurie Gangestad
Magnolia: Mayor Dennis Madison and council members Melanie Madison and Jeff DeGroot
Steen: Mayor Lynette Woelber and council members Jazmine Dagel and Brad Bosch
Battle Plain Township: Supervisors Eric Sas and Aaron Sandbulte
Denver Township:Treasurer Lloyd Hemme and supervisors Tony Roosand Donald Arends
Martin Township:Supervisor Nathan Fick
Rose Dell Township: Treasurer Jerry Purdin and supervisors Larry Fjellangerand Joe Buysse
Vienna Township: Treasurer Albert Rust and supervisors David Severtson and Brad Skattum