Skip to main content

Election 2022 in final stretch

Mail ballots by Friday or bring them to the courthouse
Lori Sorenson

The 2022 General Election is Tuesday, Nov. 8, and those who haven’t already voted early or by mail will head to the polls next week to cast their ballots.
Rock County Auditor-Treasurer Ashley Kurtz said activity continues to pick up pace in her office.
“We've had a lot of phone calls about voter registration,” she said.
“The cutoff to be a registered voter on the roster was Oct. 18, but voters are still able to register at the polls on Election Day.”
Kurtz said they'll need to bring a current Minnesota ID with a current address in order to register, and if they don't have that, she encouraged them to call her office ahead of time at 507-283-5060.
“We’ll work with them on what they'll need to bring in order to prove residence for registration,” she said.
Kurtz also encouraged people to mail their ballots before Friday and track the status of their ballots to be sure they’ve been counted.
“The post office has been great getting ballots to us,” Kurtz said. “We've even received ballots that weren't put in the mailing envelope, just the signature envelope so they are working hard to help the process.”
At of the end of the day Monday, her office had received 196 absentee ballots and 689 mail ballots. 
The Star Herald has profiled candidates running for local offices in contested races. That coverage, in addition to Luverne School Board interviews and the candidate forum for Luverne City Council and Minnesota House, can be viewed at
Minnesota District 21A State House seat is up for election this fall, and incumbent Joe Schomacker (R-Luverne) will face current Luverne Mayor Pat Baustian as the DFL candidate on the ballot for that two-year term.
The Minnesota District 21 State Senate seat is open for election, and incumbent Bill Weber, R-Luverne, is running unopposed.
Luverne City Council incumbent candidate Kevin Aaker is being challenged by Mert Kracht for the Ward 2 seat on the council. Incumbent Caroline Thorson is on the ballot unopposed for re-election to her seat on the council.
Because of redistricting, all Rock County Board seats are up for election, and all five incumbents will be on the ballot this fall unopposed. They are Gary Overgaard, Stan Williamson, Greg Burger, Sherri Thompson and Jody Reisch.
Rock County Sheriff Evan Verbrugge and Rock County Attorney Jeff Haubrich are also seeking re-election unopposed.
In Luverne School District, voters will see 18 school board candidates for four open seats. The four-year terms of
Katie Baustian, Reva Sehr, Jodi Bosch and Eric Hartman for up for election, and only Hartman filed.
In addition, Michael DeBates, Heather Johnson, Jason Schear, Amber Lais, Matt Goembel, Amber Nath, Jacob Hartz, Austin Kurtz, Brett Hood, Zach Nolz, Randy Sasker, Maggie Siebenahler, Josh Gangestad and Scott Wessels have filed for the three 4-year positions.
Three others filed for the two-year term vacated by Jeff Stratton when he resigned from the school board to become the school resource officer. Seeking election to that seat are Ryan DeBates, Maggie Vanderburg and Matthew Van Grootheest.
The Hills-Beaver Creek School Board has four candidates seeking election to four open seats currently held by Harley Fransman, Renee Knobloch, Ethan Rozeboom and Arlyn Gehrke.
Gehrke and Rozeboom filed for re-election, and they’ll be joined on the ballot by Travis Helgeson and Eric Uitenbogaard.
The Hills City Council has five candidates vying for two open seats. Incumbents Vickie Busswitz and Alan Leenderts filed for re-election, and they’ll face challengers Brian Kraayenhof, Cory Metzger and Dusty Seachris in the November election.
Beaver Creek Mayor Josh Teune filed for re-election unopposed, but four people are seeking election to two open seats on the Beaver Creek City Council. Council members Jeff Dysthe and Pat Bender did not file for re-election, and Heidi Freese, Joe Conger, Jacob Conger and Madison Conger filed for their open seats.
Hardwick Mayor Willy Baker did not file for re-election, and council member Tom Haas (who has been acting mayor) is seeking election to the formal title.
Two candidates, Gordon (Sam) Hansen and Don Bryan filed for two open council seats on the Hardwick City Council.
Kenneth Mayor Keith Hoven and council members Sheri Vyskocil and Laurie Gangestad are seeking re-election unopposed.
Magnolia Mayor Dennis Madison and council members Melanie Madison and Jeff DeGroot are up for election, but the Secretary of State Website shows that no one has filed.
Steen Mayor Lynette Woelber and council members Jazmine Dagel and Brad Bosch are up for election, but only Woelber and Dagel have filed, according to the state website.
Battle Plain Township Supervisors Eric Sas and Aaron Sandbulte are seeking re-election unopposed.
Denver TownshipTreasurer Lloyd Hemme and supervisors Tony Roosand Donald Arends are seeking re-election unopposed.
Martin TownshipSupervisor Nathan Fick filed for re-election.
Rose Dell Township Treasurer Jerry Purdin and supervisors Larry Fjellangerand Joe Buysse are seeking re-election unopposed.
Vienna Township Treasurer Albert Rust and supervisors David Severtson and Brad Skattum filed for relection, and Kraig Rust is challenging Skattum for the Supervisor C seat on the board.
Rock County voters will also choose between DFL-er Jeff Ettinger and GOP candidate Brad Finstad to fill the unexpired term of Dist. 1 Congressman Jim Hagedorn who died of cancer in February.
The offices for Minnesota governor and lieutenant governor are up for election this fall, as are the secretary of state, state auditor, attorney general and judicial offices.
The Minnesota Secretary of State website,, has all the details.
Local election questions can be directed to the Rock County Auditor Treasurer’s Office at 507-283-5060 or

You must log in to continue reading. Log in or subscribe today.