School News May 30, 2019

Severtson honored by peers

The University of Minnesota Duluth Office of Student Life and Kirby  Student Center  honored Lexie Severtson, a biology major from Luverne, with the Leadership Certificate at the Leadership Awards Reception April 29. The certificate is presented to students who have excelled in academics, community service, additional learning outside the classroom and personal reflection.

Note: The Star Herald received inaccurate information from UMD for last week’s article.


Area students graduate from LATI

The following local students graduated from Lake Area Technical Institute in Watertown, South Dakota, on Friday, May 10:

Luverne: Ashley Van Wettering, dental assisting; Jared Jose, heavy equipment operator.

Ellsworth: Jared Leuthold, diesel technology.

Kenneth: Kristoffer Severtson, welding technology. Severtson also qualified for the president’s list for the Spring 2019 semester with a GPA of 3.5 or higher.


Taubert named to dean’s list

Carey Taubert, Beaver Creek, was named to the dean’s list for the Spring 2019 semester at Morningside College in Sioux City, Iowa. To be eligible, students must earn a minimum of a 3.67 grade point average with at least 12 graded credits.

Taubert is a senior majoring in nursing.


Luverne grad joins academic society

Luverne High School graduate Faith Mounce, Hills, was invited to be part of the National Society of High School Scholars, which recognizes students for academic achievement, leadership and community involvement.

To be eligible, students must have a GPA of 3.5 or better and an ACT score of at least 26 and pay a $75 membership fee.


Dingmann graduates from U of M

Jordan Dingmann, son of Dan and Monica Dingmann, Adrian, graduated Friday, May 17, from the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, with a Bachelor of Science degree in mortuary science.

Jordan is a fifth-generation funeral director and will join his parents’ business at Dingmann Funeral Home and Cremation Services in Luverne.


Area students named to Southeast Tech president’s list

Southeast Technical Institute in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, has released the Spring 2019 semester president’s list recipients. To qualify, students must earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

Area students named to the list are Blair Altman, diagnostic medical sonography; Timothy Lingen, automotive technology; Haley Pap, early childhood specialist; Melissa Wood, business administration; and Justice Dunn, digital media production technology.


SDSU announces dean’s list

Several area students have been named to the dean’s list for the Spring 2019 semester at South Dakota State University in Brookings. To be named, students must earn a minimum of a 3.5 grade point average with at least 12 graded credits. Students with an asterisk following their names earned a 4.0 GPA.

The following code lists the major of each student:

SAFES: Agriculture, Food and Environmental Science.

SAHSS: Arts, Humanities and Social Science.

SEHS: Education and Human Sciences.

SENGR: Engineering.

SNS: Natural Sciences

SNURS: Nursing

SPAHP: Pharmacy and Allied Health Professionals.

The following students were named to the dean’s list:

Adrian: Madisyn Dingmann SEHS; Skylar Hieronimus, SAFES; Jacquelyn Hokeness, SAFES; Rylie Hokeness, SEHS.

Ellsworth: Jesse Kramer, SENGR; Cole Meester* SENGR; Megan Jo Popkes SAFES.

Hills: Trenton Bass, SENGR; McKenna Westphal, SNURS.

Kenneth: Melissa Tweet, SAHSS.

Lismore: Megan Tweet, SNS.

Luverne: Mariah Aukes, SNURS ; Tanner Baustian, SAFES; Jenae Hamann, SEHS; Alexis Henrichs*                 SAFES; Tessa Klarenbeek, SAHSS; Parker Kooima, SEHS; Aric Meinerts, SENGR; Shelbie Nath, SAHSS; Nicholas Overgaard, SAFES; Daniel Tofteland                * SAFES; Erik Tofteland* SNS; Jacob Van Santen, SAFES; Benjamin Wagner, SENGR; Danielle Watts-Boll* SAHSS.



Comment Here