Seventh- and eighth-grade students perform “Ballad for Trumpet,” which included a trumpet solo by Quinn BussHigh school trumpet players (from left) Joe Guy, Brandon Winter and Mitchell Muller play their parts in the song, “The Machine Awakes.”
Band seniors present director Richard Owen with a parting gift at the concert Friday, April 24. It's a wall hanging that says, "Pride," because Owen encourages them to take pride in their work. The gift hadn't shipped yet, so the students wrapped a piece of paper.Quinn Buss performs a trumpet solo during the seventh- and eighth-grade concert appearance.Angie Swenson directs fifth-grade band members in their performance of “Camptown Races.”High school band students perform “Music from the Hunger Games” during Friday night’s band concert.Students in grades 5-12, under the direction of Richard Owen and Angie Swenson, perform in a combined band the final number of Friday night’s concert, “Shorewood Overture,” by Michael Story.

Students perform spring instrumental concert

Annual scholarships and awards presented


The Luverne Instrumental Music Department presented its 2015 Spring Concert Friday night, April 24, in the Cardinal Gym.

The annual event included performances by the fifth-grade band, under the direction of Angie Swenson, and by the sixth-grade, seventh- and eighth-grade and high school bands, all under the direction of Richard Owen.

New to this year’s spring event was a combined performance of all the bands playing “Shorewood Overture,” by Michael Story.

In addition to the customary farewell by senior band students, Owen presented the 2015 band awards and scholarships.

The David A. Buffington Memorial Award was presented to Sam Ykema and Mitchell Graber. The award was established in memory of a former LHS trombone player and is given to students who demonstrate character, loyalty and dedication.

The Carl Nash Award for outstanding contributions to the band program by a junior was awarded to Ryleigh Beers and Katerina Siebert.

The Tony Maiello Award for marching band excellence went to Connor Crabtree.

The Louis Armstrong Jazz Award, a national award for outstanding jazz band performance, was given to Cole Bosch.

Drew Weis was selected to receive the John Philip Sousa Award, the most prestigious award for high school instrumentalists.

The Papik Family Music Scholarship was presented to Monaya Hustoft. It’s given in honor of Gary and Janine Papik’s three children who all were in band and choir all four years of their high school careers.

It’s the 14th year the Papiks have handed out the award, which comes with a $300 scholarship.

Comment Here