Five Patriots collect football honors
John Rittenhouse photo
Five Hills-Beaver Creek athletes received postseason honors from the Southern Confederacy Conference last week. Dylan Gehrke (back, left), Caleb Vis (right) and Braden Ellingson (left) made the All-SCC Western Division Team. Jeff Nelson (middle) and Carey Taubert (back, right) received honorable mention.

Five Hills-Beaver Creek High School athletes grace the roster of the 2013 All-Southern Confederacy Western Division Football roster.

Three Patriots made the all-league team and two other H-BC received honorable mention honors when the list was released last week.

H-BC seniors Dylan Gehrke and Caleb Vis and junior Braden Ellingson made the all-conference squad.

H-BC senior Jeff Nelson and junior Carey Taubert received honorable mention selections.

A total of 20 players made the All-SCC Western Division squad led by Mountain Lake Area, which landed five selections.

Seniors Josh Grev, Andrew Hempeck, Carter Kirk and Vince Johnson and junior Jacob Junker are the Wolverines on the team.

Kirk was named the league’s Offensive Player of the Year, while Grev landed the Defensive Player of the Year award.

MLA’s Tim Kirk is the Coach of the Year.

Edgerton-Ellsworth and Westbrook-Walnut Grove landed four selections each on the all-league roster.

E-E seniors Austin Mertens, Nate Paulsen and Jorge Lopez and junior Tyler Kurrasch made the list.

Mertens was named the league’s Lineman of the Year.

Seniors Matt Otto, Sean McCroskey and Levi Bunting and junior Tyler Schoborg are the Chargers on the roster.

Fulda seniors Josh Ramerth and Matthew Thier represent the Raiders on the all-league team.

Renville County West sophomore Hayden Johnson and Southwest United junior Dakotah Schmid round out the all-league roster.

A total of 14 players drew honorable mention from the league’s coaches.

MLA senior Alex Gerdes and junior Eric Wenner, E-E senior Wyatt Schaap and junior Andy Menning, W-WG juniors Tristan Joel and Logan Weis, Fulda senior Joey Voss and sophomore Brian Fenske, RCW senior Ryan Countryman and sophomore Colin Thompson and SWU senior Skyler Sievert and junior Jordan Hall round out the honorable mention selections.

E-mail this
Print this
You must be logged in to post a comment. Click here to log in.
Photos and Videos from the Star-Herald
Post your stories, blogs, photos, videos and events