Fransman to chair H-BC board
Board changes regular meeting time
Lexi Moore photo
New school board members (from left) Karin Moser and Amie Fick were sworn in to office by clerk Lois Leuthold at Monday's meeting. Incumbent Jim Kueter was also sworn in.

During their first  meeting of the year the Hills-Beaver Creek School Board members elected new officers and welcomed new members.

Harley Fransman will serve as chair of the Hills-Beaver Creek School Board.

Fransman, the only candidate nominated, was nominated by Karen Moser. 

Fransman was elected to the board in 2006 and has served on the following committees: personnel/negotiations/budget, building and grounds, Minnesota State High School League and TAB (Teachers, Administration, Board).

Arlyn Gehrke was elected vice-chair after being nominated by Lois Leuthold.

Leuthold will continue to serve as clerk and Tim Baker will remain treasurer.

Amie Fick, Karin Moser and incumbent Jim Kueter were sworn into office at the beginning of the meeting. They were elected in November for four-year terms.

Before taking their oaths of office, Lois Leuthold read aloud their responsibilities.

“In carrying out this responsibility, you will be asked to fulfill the roles of vision, structure, accountability and advocacy. In providing vision, the board, with extensive participation of the community, envisions the community’s educational future and then formulates the goals, defines the outcomes and sets the course for the public schools.”

She concluded, “Furthermore, we must strive to work together and with the superintendent and staff to lead the district toward fulfilling the vision we have created, fostering excellence for every student in the areas of academic skills and knowledge, citizenship and personal development.”


Board changes official

meeting time

The newly seated board members had several business matters on their agenda, including setting a time and place for their regular meetings.

Fick made a motion to move the meetings to Tuesday nights, and that motion failed. Moser made a motion to keep the meeting on the second and fourth Mondays of the month but move the start time from 7:30 p.m. to 7 p.m. The board approved the motion.

The next meeting is scheduled for Monday, Jan. 28, at 7 p.m. in the board room at the high school in Hills.


In other district news:

•The board was informed that there is a hearing with Gil Haugan scheduled for Feb. 4 regarding litigation. Holthaus did not have any additional information to offer.

•Fransman made the following committee assignments:

Personnel/Negotiations/Budget: Fransman, Gehrke and Leuthold; Building and Grounds: Fransman, Baker and Kueter; Transportation: Baker, Kueter and Moser; Minnesota State High School League: Kueter and Fick; Policy: Leuthold, Moser and Fick; Safety: Kueter, Baker and Fick; Curriculum: Leuthold, Gehrke and Moser; Graduation Standards/Staff Development/Continuing Education: Leuthold; Gifted and Talented: Fick; Community Education/Early Childhood Family Education: Moser; Legistlation: Fransman; TAB: Fransman and Leuthold.

E-mail this
Print this
You must be logged in to post a comment. Click here to log in.
Photos and Videos from the Star-Herald
Post your stories, blogs, photos, videos and events